Lady Antebellum, “We Owned the Night”

on

I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that the third album, We Own the Night, from superstars Lady Antebellum is the most most anticipated album of the year. After the success of their triple platinum selling and Grammy award winning album Need You Now, everyone is wondering how the group will attempt to top that success. They proved to be on the right path the lead off single, “Just a Kiss,” and are now releasing the album’s title track, “We Owned the Night,” as its second single.

If you’ve ever read any posts from me related to Lady Antebellum, you’d know that I pretty much like anything they do. So it’s a bit surprising to me that I am not a fan of this new single. I appreciate the fact that they are trying to stick to their country-pop artistic roots on this song, but it doesn’t work.

The production is a little unusual to me. I know the group considers them to be pioneers when it comes to the types of productions they use but the guitar line mixed with the annoying drum beat during the introduction sparks nothing inside me. The production doesn’t get much better from there as the acoustic guitars turn into electric guitars and everything becomes slightly overwhelming. This is interesting considering “Just a Kiss” had a more toned down production and avoided overwhelming me as a listener.

Then there’s the weird sounding lead vocal performance Charles Kelley delivers. I have no clue what they were going for in terms of how the vocals were supposed to sound, but again it just doesn’t work. Nothing works for this song at all, which scares me because I’ve been looking forward to this album since its release date was announced. The lyrics are some of the worst to come from this talented trio that I’m not even sure what to say about them other than they are verging on bad (“the wine spilled on your dress, and all you did was smile…yea we owned the night”).

I’m really hoping that this is the worst song on the upcoming album.

Leave a Reply

